Falcons Logo
The Maltose Falcons are:
1989, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004, 2007

(Presented by Anchor Brewing)
2009 Mayfaire Results!
Join The Falcons Today!
Search Site

Join the
Falcons' Yahoo Group

Our Group Page

Brewing and Tasting Monthly
22836 Ventura Blvd.
Woodland Hills, CA

Like What You See? Ready To Brew Your Own Beer?
Join The Falcons Today!

Stop by the next Club Meeting or Shop Brew to taste some great beer. New Beer Testers Always Welcome!
Home » Compete » Hall of Champions
Hall of Champions
    The Falcons have been running competitions for over 27 years now and over the years many of our winners have gone on to the ranks of the professionals or onto greater heights. All of them have continued to spread the love of brewing and their recipes appear in the archives of the Falcons.
    If you know the winners for any of the years missing from our competition rosters, please contact the Club President:
View Results from:
Mayfaire / Springfest| Oktoberfest
Los Angeles County Fair| Doug King Memorial
Mayfaire / Springfest
The oldest of our competitions, the Mayfaire (nee Springfest) has been running since at least 1979. Through the records of the winners, you can see the progress and development of the homebrewing hobby. Starting in the beginning with a bare 4 or 5 categories (Light Lager, Dark Lager, Stout or Bock, Ale) to the rich complex style listings that we continue to evolve today. For the whole history of the Sierra Nevada California Homebrewer of the Year award, the Mayfaire has been the Kentucky Derby of the race for the award.
WinnerBeer StyleNotes
2007 Jamil Zainasheff Traditional Bock
2006 Mike McDole Double ("Imperial") IPA Recipe
2005 Mike McDole Eisbock Recipe
2004 Bruce Brode* Melomel Recipe
2003 Jamil Zainasheff Schwarzbier Recipe
2002 Jamil Zainasheff Weizenbock Recipe
2001 Mike Riddle Tripel Recipe
2000 Todd Etzel* Melomel Recipe
1999 Tom Wolf* American Barleywine Recipe
1998 Richard Mansfield English ESB
1997 Mike Smith Bavarian Hefeweizen
1996 Bruce Brode,
Brian Vessa*
Dortmunder Export
1995 Paul Sedgwick* Munich Helles
1994 Markus Brutsch,
Grover Vos*
Abbey Ale
1993 Norman Dickenson Bohemian Pilsner
1992 Jeff Mellem,
Susan Mellem*
Scottish Ale
1991 Kevin Verble Imperial Stout First Non-Falcon to Win
1990 David Sherfy* Steam Beer First year "Hashell Dammett" is awarded
1989 Brent Wilson,
Daniel Farber*
Pale Ale
1988 Dennis Fink,
David Sherfy*
1987 John Maier* Barleywine Springfest renamed to "Mayfaire"
1986 John Maier* Dark Ale
1985 John Maier* Dark Lager
1984 Tony Abell,
Brent Wilson*
Pale Ale
1983 Tony Abell* Light Lager
1982 Maynard Diamond* Light Lager
1981 Bob Sheperd* Dark Lager
1980 Brent Wilson* Light Lager
1979 Brent Wilson* ??
Here the further results lie lost in the murky depths of the endless mug of Falcons history.
The second oldest competition in the Falcons lineup, the Oktoberfest started as a traditional beer party and morphed into a separate competition. The O'Fest has always been a simple competition, open to anyone for the cost of a single bottle of beer. Judging is more relaxed than our others comps, but the competition can still be just as fierce.
WinnerBeer StyleNotes
2006 Jeremy & Steve Raub* Holiday Ale Recipe
2005 Craig Shapland* Eisbock Recipe
2004 No Contest Held Due to the Club's 30th Anniversary Celebrations
2003 Drew Beechum* Maibock Recipe
2002 Sal Sciortino, Sr,
Sal Sciortino, Jr.*
English Best Bitter
2001 Jen Rhude* Hefeweizen
2000 Dennis Donahue* American Brown
1999 Cullen Davis* Porter
1998 ???
1997 Tom Wolf* American Barleywine
1996 Ken Fay* Cider
1995 ???
1994 ???
1993 John Rasmussen* Traditional Mead
1992 Tom Hamilton,
Lois Hamilton*
Scottish Wee Heavy
1991 ???
1990 David Sherfy* Blackberry Mead
1989 Brent Wilson* Pale Ale
1988 Jeff Mellem* Oatmeal Stout
1987 ??? Results are listed in the newsletter, but no BOS indicated
1986 Tom Edmunds* Barleywine
1985 Spero Kokkinakis*
1984 Marty Velas & Solange Brun*
1983 Tony Abell*
1982 Geoff Swanberg*
1981 Marty Velas & Solange Brun* First year of the Oktoberfest
Los Angeles County Fair
The LA County Fair is the largest county fair in the country, so it's only natural that the LA County would turn to the Falcons to make the operations run smoothly. Since 1988 we've provided the county with our services and our beers. In year's past, the fair included a pouring booth for us, but these days we're content with running the competition quietly in the background.
WinnerBeer StyleNotes
2007 Norman Jufer Dortmunder Export Lager
2006 Bob Kaisaki Strong Bitter/ESB Recipe
2005 Timothy Fiztpatrick English-Style Strong Ale
2004 Greg Beron Biere de Garde Recipe
2003 Bruce Brode,
Brian Vessa*
Dortmunder Export Recipe
2002 Tim Bardet Scottish Export
2001 Jeff Brown Export and Sweet Stout
2000 George Fix American Red Lager
1999 Carl Townsend Bock
1998 ???
1997 ???
1996 Michael Bowe* Munich Dunkel
1995 Bruce Brode* Imperial Stout
1994 ???
1993 Grover Vos* Belgian Ale
1992 Tom Estudillo* American Amber Ale
1991 David Sherfey* Chile Mead
1990 David Sherfy* Scottish Ale
1989 David Hammaker Barleywine
1988 Jay Ankeney* Porter First year of the LA County Fair
Doug King Memorial Competition
Our newest competition, held every January in memory of much missed Falcon, Doug King.
WinnerBeer StyleNotes
2009 Andrew Waisanen Lavneder Saison Recipe
2008 Matt Bourbeau* Marzen / Oktoberfest Recipe
2007 Todd Peterson* Black Sea Baltic Porter Recipe
2006 Dennis King American Pale Lager Recipe
2005 Craig Wickham* Cocoa Imperial Stout Recipe
2004 Rick Burnside* American Light Lager First year of the competition

Want to make your own beer at home? Get started on the right foot. Check out the Falcon's sponsoring shop, The Home Beer, Wine, Cheesemaking Shop. John Daume, proprietor, has been serving the home brewing and winemaking needs of Angelenos since 1972, over 30 years! (Falcon Members receive a 10% discount on supplies)
Looking for older Falcons' information?, The Westval Maltose Falcons Webpage (Locally cached) (The Original Falcon's Roost, prior to 1999)
Looking for a home wine making club in the Los Angeles area? Check out our sister club, The Cellarmasters, over 30 and still stomping grapes.